REJECTION

rejection1

“When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully        upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened for us.”                       Alexander Graham Bell

It isn’t the first time, and I have no doubt in my mind that it’ll be the last.  A proofreader and an editor from a prominent Christian publishing company agreed to read my book.  (Yes, I wrote a book.  More about that later.)  Bottom line is that they liked it but was not what their company “does”.  Not sure what that means.  Maybe a brush off?  Well, obviously a brush off!  But they both said they liked it so I’m going with that!  There are other fish (publishers) in the sea!

Moving on!!!

Well, first to backtrack a bit, I experienced a huge upheaval in my life (and heart) last year.  I wasn’t sure what my direction would be or where it would take me next.  It “happened” that I listened to a Dobson show on the radio one day, something I rarely do.  There was an author on the program speaking about her book.  It fascinated me.  I ordered it.  I read it. I was reminded that way back in my mind, I intended to write a story about relatives of mine, such as this book was.

So I wrote a book.

Everyone probably has a “book” in them.  I’ve always wanted to write and dabbled in poetry years ago.  The first one I remember writing is

                                                   My mother loves me all the time, she keeps me very near.                                                              She says I am the sweetest; I think she is a dear.                                                                      She’s always talking tenderly, she’s always being kind.                                                                She’s always being loving at ever the best of time.

I was probably in 4th grade!

When I was 20ish, and in the pit of rejection, I remember penning this:

                                         It rained tonight, the windows leaked.  I didn’t care, I was glad.                                                   Because God was crying for me, I had no need to be sad. . .

Not Shakespeare, clearly.  Just me!  I see writing as a form of communication, a way of release, of thoughts on paper, or more of thoughts that I didn’t know I had, showing up on paper!   Writing is therapeutic and healing.   There seems to be no wrong way to write.  Unless one wishes to be published, of course.

My goal in writing my book was not necessarily to be published.  I had a story to tell, a family story, a true compelling story of times gone by.  I had legal documentation to back up and build my story.  And I had the time to tell it.

So my book was born.

My query letter sums it up like this:

“This is the account of two brave little girls covering five traumatic years of their lives as they struggle to find an adult they can trust, sort out the lies, and rely on God for their strength.”

Intrigued?  I don’t want to give away the story.  Yet.   Because some, whose opinions I value, have read it and encouraged me to seek out publication, I will do so.

I’ll just pick myself up, dust myself off, and start all over again!

It’s the thrill of the hunt!

P.S.  Does anyone know a publisher . . .? 🙂

4 Comments

  1. Yes, I’m intrigued! You got me with the one sentence from the query letter! Not that your 4th grade poem wasn’t equally as engaging 🙂

    Like

  2. I especially love the title of your ‘reflection’. You have been living that with God’s help as long as I can remember! Loving you P, J..

    Like

  3. I feel blessed that you shared your book with me, and several other books that you have encouraged me to read. And I feel even more blessed to have you as such a precious, real friend!! LOVE YOU!

    Like

Leave a Reply

