SPRING FORWARD

 “If we had no winter, the spring would not be so pleasant; if we did not sometimes taste of adversity, prosperity would not be so welcome.” 

[Meditations Divine and Moral]”― Anne BradstreetThe Works of Anne Bradstreet

spring-1Apparently I’m one of the limited few who actually enjoy winter.  Granted, by enjoy I mean sitting cozily in front of my fireplace while watching out the window as the birds scramble for first-rights at the bird feeder and the neighbors shovel snow.   I enjoy the snow, the perfectly quiet white unblemished beauty of it.  Especially the quiet!  And again, full disclosure, I am not shoveling, driving or even playing in it. With both our cars tucked safely in our garage, I’m not even scraping.   So, if I was actually shoveling, driving, scraping or playing in it, I may eventually get tired of it.  If I lived further north where winters are longer and even more severe, no doubt I’d get tired of it.  But this winter, seemingly longer than others, I’ve appreciated the opportunity of extra time spent within my home.  Although I’ve passed way too many hours socially networking, I’ve also had more freedom and initiation to tackle home projects as well as reading and writing.

“People ask me what I do in winter when there’s no baseball.  I’ll tell you what I do.  I stare out the window and wait for spring.”  ~Rogers Hornsby

Oh yes, with the record frigid temperatures, snow accumulations and ice storms, I’ve missed some events, concerts and lunch dates, but even without those two weeks spent in Florida in February, 🙂 I consider this season a win-win for me personally.

On the other hand, spring, as “they” say, is right around the corner!  I love spring!  It’s the new beginning of EVERYTHING.  Winter has pretty much done its job.  We are  almost to that throw open the windows; plan the picnics; fire up the barbecue; plant the seeds; mulch the garden; smell the flowers; go to the zoo time of year.  It’s greening up and breathing in and slowing down just to take it all in.  It’s all clean, clear and new!  It is COLOR!  Oh my, brilliant colors in the flowers and the trees and darkest of green grass along with the bluest blue skies and the whitest white clouds.  Even the rain clouds are incredible.  Color abounds and literally wakes up all my senses.

Spring, in my thinking, is comparable to a New Year’s resolution or a Lent withdrawal (not to discount the spiritual reverence here).  We make those promises to ourselves.  Whether its determination or defiance, we vow to change something about ourselves.  Every year I tell myself, I will walk daily (outside); I will have morning devos on my deck; that I’ll actually plant and weed in the garden and weekly company barbecues will be regular events.

“I think that no matter how old or infirm I may become, I will always plant a large garden in the spring.  Who can resist the feelings of hope and joy that one gets from participating in nature’s rebirth?”  ~Edward Giobbi

I love that Easter is celebrated in the spring.  It’s a revival.  It’s a rebirth.  It’s a restoration.  It is new hope and grace.  It is the resurrection of my Lord and Saviour.

“The day the Lord created hope was probably the same day                              he created tulip-flower-border-23545088Spring.        ~Bern Williams”

Leave a Reply

