CHECK UP/CHECK IN/CHECK OUT

ImageI had that dreaded annual physical today.  You know the one: height, weight, blood stuff, pushing, probing, poking, until you want to pee!  And then they hand you a pee cup.  Only now it’s doubly annoying and insulting.  I’m on Medicare!

I forgot about this from last year.  (That was my first Medicare-eligible physical).  After copies are made of that brand spanking new insurance card, I’m handed a three-page questionnaire to fill out.  THREE PAGES!  What the heck.  It’s got all these yes/no questions about moods, memory, feelings, and on and on.  When it gets to the questions about handrails and throw rugs, I want to throw up!  I had walked in feeling pretty good.  I felt as if I should be leaving on a walker.

Ok, so it’s a generic form for Medicare patients.  But maybe there could be a little bit more thought given to the selection process.  For instance, everyone but ME should have to fill it out.  I honestly felt I was filling it out for my 91 year old mother!

Then again, maybe I’m in denial.  I do walk a little slower; asking folks to repeat themselves more often; pounds are creeping on; I’m forgetting stuff.  Ok, maybe a little denial.

Feeling a little depleted, a little depressed, and a little older after my physical, I thought I needed to go to the Source for a pick-me-up.  The Creator of this body, that is.  Wondering about all the Bible had to say on the topic, I was greatly encouraged.  Here’s a taste:

Proverbs 16:31

Gray hair is a crown of glory; it is gained in a righteous life.

Job 12:12 

Wisdom is with the aged, and understanding in length of days.

Isaiah 46:4

Even to your old age I am he, and to gray hairs I will carry you.  I have made, and I will bear; I will carry and save.

Psalm 92:14

They still bear fruit in old age; they are ever full of sap and green.

Titus 2:2

Older men (and women) are to be sober-minded, dignified, self-controlled, sound in faith, in love, and in steadfastness.

Proverbs 20:29

The glory of young men is their strength, but the splendor of old men is their gray hair.

Genesis 6:3 

Then the Lord said, “My Spirit shall not abide in man forever, for he is flesh:  his days shall be 120 years.”

Job 11:17

and your life will be brighter than the noonday; its darkness will be like the morning.

Ecclesiastes 7:10

Say not, “Why were the former days better than these?”  For it is not from wisdom that you ask this.

Isaiah 40:31

But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

Isaiah 40:29 

He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength.

Proverbs  17:6   

Grandchildren are the crown of the aged, and the glory of children is their fathers.

Jeremiah 29:11

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

I’m pretty sure I’m not quite over that proverbial hill yet. But if I am, I’m looking forward to the “other side.”

The bottom line is that I passed my physical.  Basically.  Not with flying colors, not an A+, not without some discussion on tweaking meds and exercise and more fruits and veggies.  But what do you expect for someone on Medicare!

Leave a Reply

