MORNING HAS BROKEN

My mornings are beginning earlier these days. Not that I have an agenda, but it seems the birds do! Their “early bird” chirping and singing is my current wake-up call. I’m delighted! Slipping on the slippers and grabbing for my robe, I patter into my kitchen. There my coffee, preprogramed the night before, awaits. A good friend recently gave me a new coffee cup which I have reserved for “mornings on the deck.” I grab my coffee, Bible, and binoculars and head outside.

We have had some glorious Spring mornings. The air is crisp, the sky is clear, and the humidity not yet in gear. If I sit really still (which is difficult to do on my glider chair) gold finches and house finches will appear at the feeder. Tomorrow I will hang my first hummingbird feeder and am excited to see what happens.

To my left, the sun is peeking through the trees, not yet overhead. Squirrels scamper up and down the trees in some silly game with one another. Morning doves always join me ever hopeful for leftovers.

Other than birds and squirrels, it’s basically quiet. No neighbors, no cars. Just me and God and His creation. It’s a beautiful thing!

However, one early morning last week before I arose, I heard a scuffle, sounding like a cat fight. Later, I noticed two dead robins. I was reminded of the Bible verse in Matthew: “Are not two sparrows sold for a cent? And yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care.”

The next day, the dead robins were gone. No doubt another of God’s creation “helped” with the cleanup.

In the past many rabbits have been sighted as well as wild turkeys. We still view an occasional deer and fox. When we first moved in – 16 years ago, the first morning I saw a Mama (I assume) turkey with five little ones following. The next morning – four little ones and the next – three. I didn’t even want to think about it. Then, the rabbits started disappearing and now we don’t see any. Although – this past winter, there were rabbit tracks spotted in my front yard.

Nature is funny – not in the ha, ha sense, but that it’s unpredictable. I can count on it!
To be unpredictable, that is. Although it’s never dull, it’s always inspiring.

Another Bible verse comes to mind, “Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your Heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?”

As I now enjoy my morning deck time, I know soon enough the rain will come along with the humidity of summer and the near century mark temps. But I’m thankful to God for today, for this morning!

Leave a Reply

