Feeding Frenzy

ImageIt’s my new thing: bird-feeders.  Not just any type.  I now have a finch feeder and a hummingbird feeder.  It has turned into a pastime, a time filler, or, as some may say, a time-waster!  I disagree (although I am more than motivated to sit and stare lately!)

It never ceases to amaze me how they do it!  How the red finches (apparently called the House Finch) are bigger than the Gold Finches and literally tend to throw their weight around.  Sometimes this leads into a food fight while other times all are happy to share.  The Gold Finches are beautiful and quick.  I’ve noted how the finches feed their young – from the feeder.  The young’uns will be nearby and the parents will fly back and forth from feeder to baby with seed in hand, er, beak.

Then there are the hummingbirds.  Darting hither and yon!  Seemingly never still!  And yet still in mid-air, flapping its wings 60-200 times per second!  Per Second!!  I had no idea how many varieties of hummingbirds there are.  356!  Yep!  356 worldwide!   I thought the finches were tiny, but the hummingbirds?  Oh my!  2-3 inches in length compared to finches at approximately 4-5 inches.  Compare that to a robin at 8-11 inches!

Hummingbirds are the only birds that can fly backwards.  I can relate!

You know the saying “one step forward, two steps back”?  My life motto!

A verse I’ve quoted in other posts of mine, Matthew 6:26 says Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?” 

Good to know!  Good reminder!

Apparently there are approximately ten thousand living species of birds.  Ten Thousand!  Created by God!

And I’m more valuable than all the birds in the world!!!

And so are you! 🙂

Good to know!  Good reminder!

 

Leave a Reply

