BLARE THE MUSIC

Sometimes, more often than not, my mind has a mind of its own.

I’m sure you know what I mean.  And it isn’t pretty.

I can be in the middle of a lovely event, or merely a lovely day, and the thoughts begin:  critical, shaming, defeating, belittling thoughts – about me AND others!    What was I thinking?  Not that!  And yet, there they are, BLARING in my head, all the demeaning, bemoaning self-abasing thoughts.  Sometimes they seem so obvious to me, and so LOUD that I wonder if someone nearby can hear.

Where do they come from?  Society, upbringing, peers, siblings, parents, the devil?

Certainly not from God!

God tells me that my thoughts are not His thoughts, but, I know God is good, and full of grace, and that He loves me.

But my mind – my mind continues to have those dark moments.

I heard the line recently: “How well am I paying attention to what I’m paying attention to?”

Sometimes I let myself go with it – never a good or healthy idea.  But I’m learning; I’m learning to tune it out, to fill my thoughts with things from “above”. Colossians 3:2 says, “Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.”  Oh, I could recite “raindrops on roses, whiskers on kittens. . .” from the song My Favorite Things.  But sometimes my negative thoughts require a much Higher Power!

Other times, I’ll sit on my deck and focus on the different colors of green in the grass and the leaves on the trees.  And the birds, oh my, the different birds!  All God’s creation.  I am in awe and I marvel at God!

But, most times, when I need to refocus on the good, and it’s oh so difficult, I BLARE the music notemusic!  Yep!  I take my IPhone, click on my Pandora app, and set it for “Hymns for Worship”.  If I’m home, I plug my phone into my speakers and BLARE away!  Or, if I’m in the car, the radio or CDs  produce the same result.

Sometimes it takes me longer than other times to refocus.  Eventually, I begin to listen to the words being sung, and it’ll begin to penetrate my heart – AND my mind.

There is so much evil in the world, and it seeps into my mind.  But God is good and I need to be reminded constantly.  Music is my venue, my touchstone.

The Bible tells me in Mark 12:30 and other references, And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.”

I can’t do that.  I can’t do that alone.

God knows that.  He promised:  “This is the covenant that I will make with them after those days, declares the Lord: I will put my laws on their hearts, and write them on their minds,”

Only by the grace of God. . .

And so I blare the music.  Worship music.

One thought on “BLARE THE MUSIC

  1. I love blaring my worship music too! I cannot carry a tune at all but I sing loud and proud to worship music – especially in my car. Thankfully it is a joyful noise unto the Lord!

    Like

Leave a Reply

