SELLING UP

I went shopping with my granddaughter the other day.  She had babysitting money to burn.  She’s 11.  She wanted to go to one of those Bath, Body, Bubbles types of places so we found one in the mall.  Oh my!  Not my usual destination.  It was amazingly bright and colorful!  The displays were organized by scent, sort of.  Some were organized by sales.  Others were organized by products.  I immediately realized I should have eaten lunch first.  We were going to be here a very long time.

My granddaughter had heard the pitch: “Buy three, get three free.”  She was pushing to purchase six bottles of lotions.  SIX.BOTTLES.OF.LOTIONS. Have I mentioned she’s 11!  Apparently, I am WAY out of touch.  There was another quieter pitch going on which I gently pointed out: “Buy one, get one free.”  This seemed a tad more reasonable to me, but only a tad.  What 11 year old needs even two bottles of lotions?  Then there was the silent (read my mind) pitch:  a salesgirl saw granddaughter handling one product and informed her today only that one product was 50% off.

I understood the promotions.  At one point, I worked at McDonalds.  The hamburger-selling McDonalds.  We were taught to always “sell-up.”  If customer ordered a burger & drink, we asked if they wanted fries with that.  It was a rule!  We were required to suggest!  And it worked!

Anyway, we checked every scent.  EVERY SCENT!  We tested them!  (of course.)

lotion3When she ran out of wrists and elbows, mine were offered.  I was afraid she would begin testing additional scents on other customers passing by!  It’s quite fun and very tempting (to an 11 year old) to have the freedom to test the product, ALL the products.

Eventually the scents all jumbled together in my head and nose, not to mention my stomach.  I was now kind of glad I hadn’t eaten lunch first!

She wandered from display to display.  The merchandising key to the younger shoppers, I think is (1) color; (2) name; (3) picture on container.    I think scent really comes in at a distant 4th.  The colors were all bright; the names were all exotic.  The picture represented the name- some dreamy far-off place.  The merchandising layout of the store is also important.  The checkout counter is in the back, thereby ensuring one encounter ALL the products on the way.  Yep, we definitely encountered ALL the products – several times.  It was quite an education – for me! 🙂

We came away with two bottles of lotion and the half price one.  So she only paid for one and a half bottles in the end.  I was happy.  She was happy.

After I took her to wash our hands, wrists and elbows, I bought her a pair of earrings.  It was one of my favorite days!!!

 

 

 

One thought on “SELLING UP

Leave a Reply

