Still Pools of Water

sea4I read a devotional the other day and one of the lines was “Make your mind like a still pool of water. . .”  I actually laughed out loud!  I don’t think ever in my life, in my adult life at least, has my mind been like a still pool of water.  I’m not sure that’s even possible, for me anyway.

Oh, I understand what the author meant.  I know the Bible verse, “Be still and know that I am God. . .” but it simply struck me funny.

A visit to the gulf of Florida last year had me overlooking the sea at a time when it was literally the calm before the storm, as they say.  The water was calmer than I had ever seen it – a sea of glass.  I understand there is not as much movement anyway on the gulf side compared to the Atlantic Ocean or the Pacific Ocean, but this day there was not a ripple!  It was eerily calm.

And then it came:  the storm.  Dark skies rolled in, lightening, at first so very far away, made its journey toward the beach.  The waves thrashed and the rain poured down.  It was actually pretty awesome to watch (from a safe distance 🙂 ).  After the storm passed, the waves continued to almost equal the ocean side for quite some time before normalcy returned.

I think of that in real life, in my life.  When things are actually calm and quiet and peaceful, although I’m content, not to mention relieved,  I can’t help but wonder, what’s next?  Pessimist?  Probably.  I do, however, think of myself more of a realist.  Waiting for the other shoe to drop, so to speak.  Do you know what I mean?  Can you relate?

My saving grace, which I mightily count on, is that I know, I KNOW God is in the calm and the storm and that I am never alone.  While I doubt that my mind will ever be that of a still pool of water, I can direct it toward HIM and HIS promises.

“God, my shepherd!  I don’t need a thing.  You have bedded me down in lush meadows, You find me quiet (still) pools to drink from.  True to Your word, You let me catch my breath and send me in the right direction.” Psalm 23:1-3 The Message

Leave a Reply

