Pajama Party

pjs 1It’s that kind of a morning – one which I’d like to just stay in my pajamas and drink coffee and watch my birdfeeders. Of course, that’s not going to happen. But it’s a nice thought.

When I visited my Florida Family recently I noted that the 4 and 6 year old loved, just loved to be in their pajamas, all day! When they went to school or preschool, the first thing they did upon arriving home was to change into their pjs.

It was a comfort thing; a warm, snuggly, tucked-in-at-home, comfort thing.

Growing up, my dear friend Trisha would give me a “granny gown” every year for Christmas, a nice long, flannel, ruffled neck-to-the-ankle gown. It really came in handy with those Philadelphia winters and my dad turning the heat so low at night.

Kids have pajama days at school and pajama parties.

Pajamas are a big business.  Apparently a necessary business.  One could, I mean it’s possible, to sleep in underwear (or less) but most prefer pajamas.  Nowadays one can purchase pjs with all sorts of advertisements on them perfect for children as well as adults.  When I was on that Florida trip, I got on board and purchased the 6-year old pjs with “Frozen” characters and for the 4-year old, pjs from “Despicable Me.”  Now, I must admit that I honestly did not know if a “minion” was a good guy or a bad guy so thankfully the mom was with me or I would not have made that purchase.  It’s difficult for a grandmother to keep up! 🙂

But I digress.

As I contemplate “comfort things’, sadly, but nevertheless importantly, the first thing that springs to mind is food. You know: mac & cheese, tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches, bread, lots of bread, chocolate – dark chocolate, hot chocolate, chocolate chip cookies and oh so much more. Mostly carbs in all sorts of sizes, shapes, colors, and fat grams are my comfort food of choice. 🙂

But there are other comforts, greater comforts in life:  the kids all being tucked in for the night; the bills paid; fire in the fireplace; close friends and family gatherings; that special relationship; music – all sorts of venues; a good mystery book; a cat (or dog) on my lap; watching the ocean; blue skies with white puffy clouds and no humidity; road trips; the absolute beauty of God’s creation everywhere; LOVE – loving and being loved; the assurance of salvation. . .

Yea, that’s it.  That’s what it all boils down to:  the assurance of my salvation; knowing Someone, my Comforter,  cares and loves me and forgives me when I (constantly) mess up.  It’s the comfort of knowing I’ll spend eternity with God.

I wonder if we will wear pajamas in Heaven.  What a Pajama Party that would be!

 

One Comment

Leave a Reply

