Grace is a Scandal!!!

Grace is a ScandalWith apologies to my pastor, I “borrowed” this tag line from his sermon of a couple of weeks ago entitled “Everything You Need – Nothing You Don’t (Part 2).

At the end of this post is a link to his words. It’s a study of the Book of Galatians.

My “cliff notes”:

  1. It’s a scandal that God would offer anyone forgiveness.
  2. I can’t earn forgiveness.
  3. He (God) set me apart before I was born. (Galatians 1:15)
  4. He called me by (because of) His Grace. (Galatians 1:15)
  5. He revealed His Son to me. (Jesus who died for my sins.) (Galatians 1:16)
  6. Ananias did not want to go see Saul because he heard Saul was evil (Acts 9:13)
  7. God said go!

My Pastor’s points (with my personalization):

The Grace of God is a Scandal:

  1. It is more mysterious and profound than we can imagine at any one point in our lives.

I certainly know I don’t deserve it. Ordinary people have made that clear all my life. I’ve messed up big time in my living and for way too long have listened to the wrong message.

  1. It is often expressed in and through the people that he puts on our path.

Finally, FINALLY, I heard the right message from the right Source. It was a new beginning, a clean slate.

  1. It is matured in our lives with time.

I’m continuing to learn, grow, and forgive myself. (process of sanctification)

  1. It does not exempt us from difficult, challenging, and even painful circumstances.

Many, many people have been hurt over the years by my screw-ups! It’s been a very long road to healing but I am never alone!

  1. It will result in the encouragement of others and the glorification of God.

People, God’s choice of people, have entered my life to walk with me, to guide me and to encourage me. And I, in turn, have had the “grace” to come along side others.

  1. It was His idea, at His initiation, with His payment, out of His desire for our good.

I can only believe! “Grace is love that seeks you out when you have nothing to give in return. Grace is love coming at you that has nothing to do with you. Grace is being loved when you are unlovable. . .” Paul Zahl

Grace alone, by faith alone, in Christ alone. It is a glorious scandal.

Amen.

http://www.questchurchstl.org/cpt_sermons/september-14-2014-everything-you-need-nothing-you-dont-part-2/

One thought on “Grace is a Scandal!!!

Leave a Reply

