a GRAND idea #1

A GRAND Idea1Periodically I plan to post craft and activity ideas that I have used with my own young GRANDchildren. Nothing fancy, nothing difficult.  I don’t claim any as my own original creations nor can I remember where I managed to find all the various ideas, but thought maybe others could have fun with my findings.  Most will be on the cheap if not free, easy and hopefully non-messy – just the way I like it!  All have been tested and proven to be thoroughly enjoyed by my grandchildren! 🙂

GRANDparenting is the very best job in the world!

But it’s one where we (the GRANDparents) need to stay at least a step ahead of the youngsters – no matter what the age – theirs as well as ours.  So it’s always good to have a random idea tucked away!  On a side note, my credentials:  I am the GRANDmother to eight, and stepGRANDmother to six.  Ages range from one year old up to 33 yrs. old.

When I first became a GRANDmother, I took stock of myself and felt shortchanged on the talent side.  Therefore, I determined to be the “fun” one!

My first GRAND idea is quite timely as we are welcoming October.  It is quick, fun and easy for all ages and creativity levels.

Dyed eggs are not just for Easter!pumpkin eggs 2

Simply hard boil eggs then dye orange, using equal food coloring drops of red and yellow.  Let dry, and distribute permanent black marker pens to all GRANDchildren within range.  There is no wrong way to do this.  A couple of pictures for motivation  or examples from the parents or GRANDparents on hand should do the trick.  And voila!  Be sure to have a couple extra markers on hand for those eager parents and additional Grandparents. 🙂  And don’t forget to refrigerate the cooked eggs.

Enjoy and Happy October.   Keep watching for another October idea next week!

(Feel free to shoot me your suggestions and if I post them at a later date, I’ll be sure to give you credit.)

 

Leave a Reply

