a GRAND idea #12

PJ ornament 2Homemade ornaments have been the rage as long as there have been Christmas trees to be adorned. One’s creativity knows no bounds. Some of the sample pics on this post from my own tree date back to the 1930’s (compliments of Hubby’s mother). No two alike!

Just look at your tree!  You know you have some! They are precious; priceless!

My mother needle-pointed ornaments each year for my kids, with the idea that when they grew up and left home, they would have something familiar to put on their own tree.

I always loved that idea but my persona is quick-easy-cheap. I’m not a patient person!

With the first grandchild, I attempted homemade. But as the grand-kiddos multiplied over the years, I came up with a new idea: Each year I find photo ornaments and place a current pic in each, making sure to name and date the back, and hand them out.

It’s fun to look for different photo ornaments each year. I find Hobby Lobby to have great deals and Kohls is not far behind. Of course one can get pretty elaborate but knowing they will be in the hands of little ones, I tend to keep it pretty practical.

 

The kiddos love and look forward to them and it’s fun for the parents to see the changes over the years.

And me? My job is done! 🙂

This years project:PJ ornament 2014

Leave a Reply

