Charitable Blessings all Around

good deedIt was a simple sharing over coffee with my dear friend at the local Panara’s.

Out of the corner of my eye I saw a soldier walk in and take his place in line. I thought to myself, “If I can catch his eye, I’ll thank him for his service.” Meanwhile my friend began rummaging through her wallet. I asked if she had lost something. She replied, “I noticed that soldier and I wanted to buy his breakfast but don’t have much cash. Can I borrow some?”

Oh my goodness, what a delightful thought! We pooled our cash together and as I watched, she went over and delivered the cash AND thanked him for his service. He was reluctant to accept but she insisted and he was grateful.

We felt good and I learned to step it up.

But . . . and this is the BEST part, several moments later, the soldier walked over to our table with the intent of returning the money.  He said, “the management didn’t charge me.” Of course we refused the return so he could pay for his next meal. He shook our hands and thanked us again. I wanted to hug him, my friend, AND the management.

It was a good morning. I was blessed.

Leave a Reply

