Piano Lessons

piano1It was common for most parents those days: get the children signed up for piano lessons. They signed us up and we took those #@$#@ lessons.

The first year, when I was in 1st grade, was nice. I liked my teacher, Mr. Kingsbury. He was a school teacher and our church organist and a family friend.

The second year, it went downhill from there!

We moved. Mr. Kingsbury got a promotion to Principal. My mother found a new piano teacher a block away from my new school. My brother and I would walk there after school every Wednesday. Mrs. Bossert was old and snarky. She overused her perfume and sat too close on the piano bench next to me. The most fun piece was Boogie Woogie. Yikes!

She would always criticize my finger positions, calling them “flat-fingered flugie.” Is that even a word? My brother, Mr. Perfect, would be sitting on the sofa waiting his turn. I could hear him snicker. He was her pet. Yuck.

Fortunately, Mrs. Bossert did not have recitals for her students so I was only intimidated in front of her – and Mr. Perfect, of course.

Year after year ensued and no amount of pleading would budge my mother from her mission of a lifetime of torture, er, piano lessons for me.

Well the ultimate affront came when Mrs. Bossert decided it would be divine if Mr. Perfect and I would learn duets. That’s right: sit-on-the-same-piano-bench-at-the-same-time piano duets. ARGHHHH.

That was pretty short-lived because my mother put a stop to it before there was actual bloodshed.

My brother was the rigid legalist and would do the counting, counting, counting. I, on the other hand, played with feeling! 🙂 It just did not work. He was totally accurate but I’m sure my sound was much more enjoyable to the listening ear. I just could never get my mother to admit that though.

Well, my lessons continued even after my brother was in college. (He was two years ahead of me.) After 11th grade I finally brokered a deal with my mother. If I could give up piano lessons, I’d take voice lessons. I loved to sing and was always in the church choir and school chorus so it seemed like a win-win.piano3

And she bought it!

Of course that didn’t work out so well either. The voice teacher wanted me to be a soprano when I knew I was an alto. And she wanted me to sing in German!

Today, I neither sing nor play the piano. Sigh.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Piano Lessons

  1. Oh my goodness! I soooo identify with this! My torturous piano lessons only lasted 3 years, however. And I, too, then took voice lessons & much preferred them to the piano. I sang in every choir & chorus around for many, many years — such delight! (I was a first soprano & loved “soaring” above the G clef lines!)
    Alas, along came the kids & jobs & life-full-throttle … & there went making music out the window. Singing in the congregation was my only outlet, but it thrilled by heart to sing God’s praises!! Then at the age of 44, along came asthma. Asthma stole my ability to sing … all I could do was “make a joyful noise.” It broke my heart.
    But at the age off 66, I asked the Lord to restore my breath & enough of my voice so I could robustly sing the praises He soooo deserves! AND HE DID!! It occurred over several months. I realized it in church 3 weeks ago as we sang, “Your breath fills my lungs & I sing out praises to You….” My breath & my voice now more completely express my heart’s gratitude & praises to Him!! I thank God for this sweet restoration of expression!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

