FIRE DRILL

fire engine Greenville SCQuite a few years ago a friend and I went to visit my mother for a week. She lived in a nice retirement community in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania at the time.

It was a pleasant outing in a beautiful place.

This particular retirement community had a penchant for frequent fire drills. It was “drilled” into the residents what to do and where to go when the alarm went off.

My mother had it down: she would grab her lightweight folding lawn chair and her purse and head out to her patio. If it was winter she would just go down the hall to the lobby and congregate with everyone else.

She never complained; in fact I never heard any of the residents complain.

The week I was there, two times that blasted alarm went off. I found myself complaining! 🙂

The second time was in the middle of the night. Grumpily, I struggled to get up. Mother already had her lawn chair and her purse and was heading out the door. I was almost to the door when I remembered my friend sleeping in the guest room. For whatever reason she had failed to hear the alarm. I rallied her and we joined my mother on the patio.

We laugh about it now but it was quite the annoyance (for me) at the time. My mother and her friends, however, knew it was beneficial for them. It was for their good. And there actually was the occasional fire!

I continue to be impressed that all my mother felt she needed at the time when all her possessions had the potential of being burnt up, was a lawn chair and her purse.

I recall a couple of years ago when hubby and I were in a hotel and the fire alarm went off – fortunately NOT in the middle of the night. I did all the wrong things! First, I opened the door into the hallway. Oh my, there was smoke coming from down the hall. Second, I yelled like a banshee woman to hubby, “Grab the electronics!!” Sadly and embarrassingly, that consisted of two laptops, two cell phones and one IPad, not to mention various cords and chargers. Oh yea, I attempted to corral it all! Third, as we were rapidly moving down the hall, I wanted to take the elevator! Other guests chastised me on that one. “Everyone knows that in a fire, one takes the stairs.” Sheesh!

On an occasion when my adult kids were in a hotel and a fire broke out (in the middle of the night), they grabbed their kids!

Apparently I need to work on my priorities! 🙂

I was remembering the old phrase “you can’t take it with you” and the old joke of one never seeing a U-Haul following a hearse. Funny but true.

A wake-up call (if you’ll excuse the pun.)

I need to be more serious about those priorities. I need to check myself on a regular basis for what is most important to me and my life.

I get so caught up in things and stuff and, well, just life. Probably I should downsize. My head, at least. So much stuff swirls around in my brain all the time. Sometimes, hubby will ask what I am thinking and I list about ten things I’m thinking about all in a moment of time. Seriously.

I really need to regroup, to refocus on the important “things” of life, to slap myself in the head when I mentally wander. God is my Savior and I know that and I need to focus on that and I need to share that.hubby and me

When I take a mental walk-thru my house now and contemplate what I would grab in case of a fire, I think of one thing: my hubby!

I CAN take my hubby with me! In fact I AM going to have him with me in heaven! 🙂

“When you pass through the waters,
    I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,

    they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire,
    you will not be burned;
    the flames will not set you ablaze.
 For I am the Lord your God,
    the Holy One of Israel, your Savior…”

Isaiah 43:2-3

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

