Technical Difficulties

printer 2Modern technology is amazing, just amazing. I cannot keep up, but I am delighted with new stuff and when I can actually figure something out.

When I bought a new printer several years ago, I was pleased and surprised to find out it was wireless. I didn’t even know what that meant. I soon found out – I can print, not only from my computer but from my iPad and iPhone – from anywhere in the house! How fun is that!!!

My favorite plus of my printer is that I can print pictures. I just LOVE to print my pictures. If anyone is on Facebook or Instagram with me, they know I LOVE to take pictures. I print for my family and friends.

In December, halfway through printing a photo album for my mother for a gift, my printer began to act up. Pictures were getting fuzzy. I did all the stuff the book says and then I googled it. I gave up. I thought since the rest of the printer worked, I’d live with it and just send my pics to the local Walgreens.

That lasted about two weeks.

I broke down and bought a new printer. My kids benefited from the old one.

Two weeks ago I hooked up the new one and began doing my thing. Actually, it’s used for other things than picture printing. Being a writer, I’m always printing my own words not to mention copying and researching, etc. But that photo part? My fav!

Two days ago, I printed a couple of pics. They were fuzzy. I could not believe it! I was stumped, frustrated and angry. Suffice it to say, my humor was not intact.

I did not unhook the printer but took the instruction book and a sample of my fuzzy printed picture.

I went to Customer Service at Best Buy and showed the guy my dilemma.

He looked, he thought, and he chose his words very carefully.

“Uh, do you suppose, is it possible,” he began ever so gently, “that you put in the photo paper upside down?”

I about died!

As soon as he said it, I knew he was right. Apparently I had a major brain freeze after all these years of printing pictures.  That part was not in the instruction book, I suppose, because it’s so obvious!

I thanked the guy, admitted my, uh, screw up, and hurriedly left the store.

After sharing with my kids, the recipients of the old computer, that they now had a fully functioning printer, they were of course, delighted. But they did wonder if I’d want to return the new one and take back the old one.

No, I promised, it’s theirs now. Just remember shiny side down.

Christmas in February for them; a giant piece of humble pie for me.

printer 1

 

One Comment

Leave a Reply

