THREE WEEKS

In the last three weeks, I’ve experienced one ER visit, one CT scan, one Ultrasound, one MRI, one EKG, one Echo cardiogram, one primary physician, one OB/GYN, one ER physician, two radiologists, two surgeons, two pee-in-a-cup experiences, two hospitals, a few blood tests, and many, many hours of lost sleep.

Let me explain:   emergency

It all began with a late night visit to the ER with a bad pain in my abdomen. Hence the ER doctor who ordered a CT scan. It showed my problem which corrected itself. However, the CT scan also showed an issue with an ovary and both kidneys. I was referred back to my primary physician who ordered the Ultrasound and MRI. Because of my claustrophobia problem, it took three calls to locate an “open” MRI. I still popped a Xanax. 🙂

When I showed up for my ultrasound (the kind where you are required to drink about a million gallons of water prior), I was told they had no record of my appointment. Suffice it to say, they “fit me in.” I must have had my angry face on. CT Scan

After reviewing the MRI film, my doctor announced I’d be losing a kidney! She sent me to a surgeon. The surgeon disagreed with the MRI report and basically poo-pooed surgery. With strong encouragement from my family, I sought another opinion. The second surgeon at another hospital looked at the film and said, yes, there would be surgery. We set a date.

Meanwhile, after the ultrasound, I visited a OB/GYN who declared we’d recheck the ovary in six months, since I had the kidney thing going on. I was relieved to cross that off the list.

The last item to check off was an Echocardiogram.

As I planned for surgery and told my friends and family, I tried to consider all that needed to be done. My emotions were all over the place.

Yesterday, three weeks to the day from the ER visit, the second surgeon called. He said his radiologist took a look at the MRI film and said to cancel surgery and recheck in 3 months.

So instead of having a second opinion, I had four!

Maybe I should have put them all in the same room and, when they all agreed, announce it together. Sheesh!!!slippers

My brain is exhausted.

At least I didn’t get around to buying a new pair of pajamas!

Give thanks in all circumstances;
for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.
I Thessalonians 5:18

2 Comments

  1. Praying for you and Nap. Thank God for His sufficiency for us. In our weakness He continues to give us His perfect peace. Imagine what it would be like facing this without Him. My hope is God’s continued best for you. Will continue to pray. Thanks for sharing. In Him, Bill

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You certainly “made a memory ” these last 3 weeks! What an emotional yo-yo ride!

    Thank you for sharing your experience, however. I would imagine it is more common than we would think. Now others have the comfort of knowing this is part of the process of determining the best course of medical action. It may feel helter-skelter & “all over the board” to us, but God will cause the truth to rise to the surface. He will lead us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

