Papa, Where Are You? book talk

Another adventure of this authoring/publishing book business completed this week.

I gave a “book talk” at my mother’s retirement community.book talk 5

To be clear, I wasn’t sure what a book talk exactly was. I knew a lot of folks there had purchased and read my book but I also supposed there would be folks there who had not. So, while I wanted to answer questions, I also wanted to pique the interest of the hopeful buyers without giving away the whole story.

And honestly, I wasn’t sure if anyone would be there! Those retirement communities have much to offer keep their tenants quite occupied with many fun diversified activities.

To top it off, I developed a severe case of laryngitis several days earlier. I took as much medicine as possible and prayed for a voice as I prepared. After having bullet points on what I might cover and some visual aids, I was ready, sans the voice.

Another factor? I am not, nor have I ever been, nor did I ever have the desire to be – a public – stand up in front – speaker.

And Jean, who is always my ‘wingman’ could not go with me.

What could go wrong!?! ☹

The day before the event, I asked Karen, who graciously accepted, to be my stand-in ‘wingman.’ The morning of, I could talk – at about 90% capacity. I knew the place had a microphone to fall back on if necessary, which it was not.

We arrived and set up and people began to trickle in. For whatever reason, I was calm. It helped that my mother lived here although she does not know everyone.

First question to my audience: Who and how many have read the book? Probably 1/3 had. I proceeded with my talk. I was given an hour which freaked me out, but as it turned out, with my talk and their questions and book selling and signing, an hour flew by.

 

Attendance was about 25. That in itself blew me away! Books were purchased, previous purchases had been brought in to be signed and a few who had borrowed the book from another, decided they needed their own copy.book talk 2

 

I was blessed. I was relieved. My mother was proud.

And then, afterward, over lunch in their dining room,

I lost my voice!             

God’s timing! 😊

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

