That Dreaded MRI

The fact that I was informed that this time I couldn’t have an open MRI just confounded the issue. The open one was a challenge for me and my claustrophobia, but a closed one? Well, I’d never be ready. But there was no other option.

mriThe day of, I had been given a valium and instructed to take it one hour before the procedure. I did as instructed and arrived 45 minutes early (also as directed) to fill out the obligatory paperwork. I then sat down to wait, hoping the valium would be working any minute.

Not 5 minutes later I was called in. Hoping there would be about another 30 minutes of prep, I followed. Oh no, they were running ahead of schedule and were ready for me. That tightness in my chest I’m too familiar with commenced as I explained I needed to wait another 30 minutes for the valium to kick in.

The two attendants were kind as one told me usually valium works within 30 minutes. I was doubtful. The gals gave me a trial run through. As I lay on the table/bed, they slid me in. I lasted 2 seconds. They slid me out and we waited 5 minutes or so. As they hooked up my IV and offered music, I was pleasantly surprised. The other MRI at another facility didn’t have the capability of using music. Immediately I was listening to Laura Story singing ‘Blessings’. Quite appropriate for the occasion. headphones

The techs, thinking surely, I must be ready now, handed me the ‘panic button’(for emergencies only) and slid me in. Within 5 seconds, I panicked and hit that button. They pulled me out. “Please,” I begged sheepishly, “Give me 10 more minutes.” I knew by then the hour would be up and was hoping I had grown a backbone by then. The gals had no choice but to agree and left me to my own thoughts (and prayers.)

Of course, I came up with another delay as they returned. “It’s not critical,” I began. “But would it be too much of a deal for me to go to the bathroom first?” I was serious because there was this thing, part of the MRI, that had been resting on my stomach and I knew I’d have another problem if not taken care of.

I returned from the bathroom with a new attitude, no doubt partly from the valium finely taking effect, but also prayers – my own as well as family and friends who knew what a wuss I was. 😊

“Let’s get this done!” I said with a new feeling of confidence. Having already been told the test would last approximately 35 minutes, I calculated each song would last about 3.5 minutes = 10 songs. As they slid me in once again, I began counting on my fingers each song as it finished.

At nine songs, all was completed.

Piece of cake! 😊
panic verse

Leave a Reply

